Miyuki Winners Announced

Mohair SA and Miyuki celebrates 35 years at the 2014 Miyuki Trophy Award ceremony

Mohair South Africa and Japanese fabric weaver, Miyuki Keori announced the winners of the 35th Miyuki Keori Trophy in Port Elizabeth on Wednesday, 13 May 2015.

The South African Mohair Industry and Miyuki Keori, a top end Japanese fabric weaver joined forces in 1980 to give recognition to the mohair producers delivering the best classed mohair clip. The objective of this collaboration is to encourage  the South African mohair producers, who are renowned for producing the best Mohair in the world, to maintain and improve on the presentation and quality of the South African Mohair clip.

In addition to striving for excellent clip quality, this competition also offers two prizes for the farmers with the most sustainable mohair production, which is a first for the industry.

The winners of the 2014 Miyuki Keori Trophy are Van Hasselt Farming cc, (Gay and Jordy van Hasselt) from Prince Albert, who was awarded the Grand Champion prize, followed by Louw & Frans Retief from Murraysburg, who received the Reserve Grand Champion Award.

The Champion Summer Clip award went to FE (Billy) Colborne & Sons from Willowmore, whilst Gert Jordaan Familie Trust from Aberdeen received the Champion Winter Clip.

Roy Heydenrych from Jansenville won the award for the Most Sustainable Producer for the third consecutive year, with Barries Snijman from the Farm Vleikuil in Rietbron as the Runner-up Most Sustainable Producer.

Gay and Jordi van Hasselt from Van Hasselt Farming,  the Grand Champion received a Miyuki Mohair suit length to the value of R5000 in addition to their cash prize.

Deon Saayman, General Manager of Mohair SA said that reflecting back over the past 35 years since the inception of the the Miyuki Keori Trophy competition, it is evident that endeavours such as these offers an excellent platform for producers to push their production boundaries to a new level. The industry is most grateful for the continued support that they have received from Miyuki Keori and look forward to a continued long term collaboration with this distinguished Japanese weaver.

The finalists in this competition were:
Paul Broeksma (Teerputs Farms)
J B du Preez & Seun
Gay & Jordi van Hasselt (Van Hasselt Farming)
Jan Lategan (Fairview Angoras)
Roy Heydenrych
Neil Colborne
Barries Snjiman (Vleikuil Boerdery)
Louw & Frans Retief
Rothner Bekker
Ben van der Westhuizen
F E Colborne & Sons
Gert Jordaan Family Trust
Charles Fitzhenry & Son
LW Wagener
Chris Greeff

© SA Mohair Growers - 2019 | Links | Mohair SA and Miyuki celebrates 35 years at the 2014 Miyuki Trophy Award ceremony

Website Design and Search Engine Optimisation (SEO) by ZAWebs Designs | Web Hosting by ZAWebs Hosting